jump to navigation

Cache my Related Info search commands – Google! November 29, 2008

Posted by ryanleary in Search Commands.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

google_search_2

I was speaking the other day to a friend of mine who happens to be a sourcer. We got into a conversation about searching on Google outside of your typical Boolean strings. Now I am one for creating a nice strong string to run against a req. But I am also the one to look for the most return with the least amount of NEW work.

In order to accomplish this I tend to read a lot and keep great notes as to my sourcing strategies for my business at that specific time.  String searching, networking, text messaging… Whatever the approach was I track for results or my ROR. (Return on Recruitment)

Here are 3 very cool ways of searching that do not involve full strings but will sometimes give you more bang for your buck. I find that I use these search techniques a coupe of time a week. Remember, as with any search technique you have to manipulate and run with the trial and error method. There is no one way.

Cache:

The cache command is Google’s little time machine. Did you ever see a result that you want to find again but you did not bookmark the page? Try using the Cache search command. This will essentially allow you to search a previously cached version of an indexed web page.

Cache:www.enteryoursitenamehere.com

Info:

The Info command is generally used when looking for specific points of interest for a particular web site or domain. For instance, if I am conducting some research on the “Comcast Corporation” and I enter the string below, I will get these results:

Info:www.comcast.com

I get:

Google can show you the following information for this URL:

Connect the dots and you can easily see why this search command can be worth while.

Related:

And finally I wanted to share with everyone the “related” command. The related command will search and display all of the websites found that are similar and/or related to the site you are researching. This will always pull sub divisions within a company, acquired companies, press releases etc. this search is relevant when you are performing due diligence on competitors or you are tracking down a publisher/speaker/blogger etc. and you are looking for related articles and organizations this person may belong too.

Related:www.comcast.com

Please feel free to comment or suggest your own searches as well!

Comments»

1. Website Design - November 29, 2008

Thanks for your information.I learned a lot from it, keep it up!


Leave a Reply

